Tag: Lisburn

Lisburn (Irish: Lios na gCearrbhach) is a city in Northern Ireland. It is situated southwest of Belfast on the River Lagan which forms the boundary between County Antrim and County Down. Lisburn forms part of the Belfast metropolitan area. It had a population of 71,465 people in the 2001 Census and a population density of 243 per km². The wider council area has a growing population of 114,000, making it the second largest council district, after Belfast.
Formerly a borough, Lisburn was granted city status in 2002 as part of Queen Elizabeth II’s Golden Jubilee celebrations. It is the third-largest city in Northern Ireland and the sixth-largest on the island of Ireland, though the proposed changes to the status of Tallaght would render it seventh.
The town was originally known as Lisnagarvy (also spelt Lisnagarvey, Lisnegarvey, Lisnegarvy, Lisnegarvagh or Lisnagarvagh) after the townland in which it formed. This is derived from Irish: Lios na gCearrbhach meaning “ringfort of the…